Thursday, April 2, 2015

Crash Landing


     I've been here over two days now, and this is the first chance I've gotten to relax. I've been so busy settling in and jumping right into working that I haven't had time to write about everything that has happened so far.

     To start, the plane ride was something you'd expect to see in movies. From start to finish, it was a nightmare. We were over thirty minutes late to board the plane which meant we arrived in Hawaii over half an hour late. The only reason for that was they were calling out names and having people come up and get assigned a specific "group" that told them when they could board the plane. It was really dumb to be honest but that was why we were late. Then, I got on the plane and took out my iPod to listen to music that I had just downloaded. There was over 1,000 songs on my iPod, and when I went to look at it, it showed a total of 8 songs. I don't know what happened because when I just recently uploaded more songs to it, I uploaded probably close to thirty songs but somehow it only showed eight. So listening to music the whole way turned out to be a dud. And I still need to figure out if I can fix this because it will take me forever if I have to re-upload all that music. I was upset but figured that I'd just make up for it by listening to music using the Wi-Fi from the plane. Well, turns out the Wi-Fi can only work if we're close to the United States and since the flight would take place over the ocean, there was no Wi-Fi available. As if losing all of my entertainment sources was bad enough, the actual ride was worse. There were three guys that sat in the row behind me who were loud and obnoxious almost the entire way. Immediately after take off I was so exhausted from the lack of sleep and obsessive crying that had taken place the previous two days, that I decided sleeping would help pass the time. I had just started to doze off, when the guy sitting behind me slams his window shut and causes me to jump. Then he keeps drumming on the back of my seat with his hands and letting out a small giggle. Which meant he was doing it on purpose. And I'm not even done yet. Almost the entire plane ride, there was a child screaming and crying. It wasn't always the same child, but when one stopped another would start. And then one of the mothers with one of the screaming children started to get into a confrontation with the person in front of her which I'm assuming was caused by them asking if she could quiet her child. She was talking in a raised voice about how "My husband and I are trying the best we can and I'm sorry!" About half-way through the flight (3 hours in), things started to settle down. The men behind me fell asleep and I had decided to sew on the baby blanket I brought with me. I figured maybe I could finally relax and possibly even try to nap. Wrong. As soon as the people on the flight got quiet, we experienced turbulence. And not just a little bump here and there, it was as if I was on a roller coaster. Trying to sew was nearly impossible because my hand couldn't stay steady. Walking down the aisle was awful because people were falling on other people and grabbing to seats for dear life. It was the worst turbulence I've ever had to experience. And somehow that managed to continue the entire second half of the flight. I was so glad when the I stepped off that plane. However, there was one positive thing about the ride. I sat next to a family which took up the two seats next to me and the three seats on the opposite aisle. The person sitting right next to me was a teenage boy, I'd guess around the age of 13-15. He reminded me a lot of my cousin Cobee. He looked and acted like him. And he was really nice. He kept me entertained most of the way. He talked to me and let me watch him play games on his tablet. It definitely helped pass the time more. But anyway, there's the craziness of my flight.

     Since then, I haven't done much. The first night I was here, I crashed at about 7:30 after unpacking and being shown the kids' school and introduced to teachers. Yesterday I stayed home with Carissa and we just played all day, and when the rest of the family came home, we ate dinner and played some more. Then last night, I was shown where the closest stores are so I can at least run there if I need anything. I'm still a little bit nervous to explore, especially with the youngest in the car. So I'm hoping in the next few days they'll take me a bit further and I'll get more comfortable with driving here. It's a bit confusing, it reminds me of San Diego and Seattle driving. Lots of off ramps and different directions.

      I don't really feel like I'm in Hawaii. I don't know, it feels weird. It still hasn't hit me that I'm not home. I just feel like I'm having a sleepover, I feel like I'll go home any day now. I think when I start to feel homesick it's going to hit me hard. And plus I haven't even gone to the beach yet, I've just been stuck in the house so it's weird to think I really am in Hawaii. The weather is warm, it feels like a nice day in Washington because it's roughly 80 degrees with a nice breeze. But I'm already starting to kind of go crazy because I haven't done anything. I'm thinking that by next week I will start adventuring out, maybe on the weekends or in the evenings just to get out. I walked into this thinking that they would at least try to show me around the first week, but all they've done so far is throw me into nannying full force. Last night I was the one entertaining the kids while they cooked dinner and relaxed. So I guess I feel sort of frustrated, but I'm trying to keep a positive attitude because they can only do so much in one day and I can't keep being so negative. This is such a great opportunity and I'm going to try to make the best of it.

No comments:

Post a Comment